Tuesday, April 7, 2009

Voting underway at Jirapa bye-election

Voting is underway in the Jirapa Constituency of the Upper West Region where 43,056 registered voters are expected to elect a Member of Parliament in a bye-election according to myjoyonline.

Voting started at all 105 polling centres in the constituency at 7am, but according to Luv FM's Elton John Brobbey who spoke with Joy FM, turnout so far has been discouraging.

He said the people appeared to be disinterested in the exercise, attending to their daily chores and businesses.

The constituency lost its MP, Mr Edward Kojo Salia, former National Democratic Congress (NDC) Member of Parliament who died in February this year.

Three contestants; Dr Francis Bawaana Dakurah for the NDC, Mr Justin Dakorah for the New Patriotic Party (NPP) and Ms Joycelin Ansiena for the Democratic People's Party (DPP).

On Sunday, the NDC held a well attended rally at Jirapa attended by the Founder, former President Jerry John Rawlings and Vice President John Dramani Mahama and some National Executive Officers.

Nana Ohene Ntow, General Secretary of NPP, and some leading members of the Party including some Members of Parliament were also in the constituency to whip up support for their candidate.

No comments: