Tuesday, March 10, 2009

President appoints Council of State members

The President His Excellency, John Atta Mills has appointed eleven persons as members of Council of State. 

The action is consistent with Article 89(2) (d) of the 1992 Constitution of the Republic of Ghana. 

This was put across in a statement signed by the President's Spokesperson, Hon Mahama Ayariga. 

The members of the Council of State are as follows


1. Mrs. Victoria Addy

2. Mrs. Cecilia Johnson

3. Prof. Akilakpa Sawyerr

4. Prof. Kofi Awoonor

5. Daasebre Kwebu Ewusi VII

6. Alhaji Asoma Banda

7. Hajara Musa Ali

8. Alhaji Mahama Iddrisu

9. Nana Akuako Sarpong

10. Otumfuo Badu Bonsu XV

11. Rev. Nii Amo Darko


Meanwhile the President, His Excellency John Evans Atta Mills has withdrawn the nomination of Dr. Nartey Siaw-Sappore.

Dr. Siaw-Sappore was slated for the Ministry of Communications as deputy to Hon. Haruna Iddrisu, the substantive sector minister. Details of the president's action remain sketchy.

This brings to two the number of nominations the President has withdrawn, the first being Hon. Moses Asaga, then the President's choice for the Works and Housing Ministry.

Citi News Parliamentary Correspondent, Richard Sky reports that the statement from the castle was read on the floor of parliament.



By: citifmonline.com


No comments: