Tuesday, December 30, 2008

No Winner in Ghana's 2008 elections

No Winner in Ghana's 2008 elections, there is the need for auditing of results from Ashanti and Volta region and the constituency called TAIN where no elections took place, will hold their elections on January 2nd 2008. According the Electoral Commissioner of Ghana, Dr Afari Gyan at a press conference which was originally meant to announce the winner of Ghana Elections 2008.

Dr. Kwadwo Afari Djan has announced the presidential run-off will be held in the Tain constituency on January 2, 2009 before the election results are announced. Dr Afari Gyan explained the results of the polls are very close ,can be affected by results form the Tain constituency. Voters in Tain did vote in the December run-off following some misunderstanding over polling materials.Dr. Afari Djan however announced the results collated for the 229 out of 230 constituencies as follows:

Nana Akuffo Addo 49.87%

Professor Atta Mills 50.13 %
Tain constituency consists of about 56,000 registered voters, with the NDC winning the constituency on December 7 with 16,211 votes representing 50.25% while NPP got 14,935 representing 46.75 % of the votes.
Tain constituency in the Brong Ahafo region in Ghana is going to be the decider


No comments: