Wednesday, December 31, 2008

Results of Tain Constituency to determine next President

The winner of 2008 Presidential Election Runoff would be determined after voting in the Tain Constituency on Friday, Dr Kwadwo Afari-Gyan, Chairman of the Electoral Commission (EC) announced in Accra on Tuesday.
     Speaking at a news conference, Dr Afari-Gyan said mathematically the results from the constituency could affect the outcome of the Runoff because the number of voters in the constituency was more than the difference between Professor John Evans Atta Mills of National Democratic Congress (NDC) and Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo of New Patriotic Party (NPP).
     He announced that the results from 229 out of the 230 constituencies that have been certified by the EC, gave Prof Mills 4,501,466 votes representing 50.13 per cent of total valid votes cast while Nana Akufo-Addo garnered 4,478,411 votes representing 49.87 per cent.
       Thus the difference of 23,055 votes could not give Prof Mills the presidency since the number of voters in the Tain constituency was more than the figure.
       Prof Mills won in the Tain constituency during the 2008 General Election. He obtained 16,211 votes, representing 50.7 per cent, while Nana Akufo-Addo got 14,935 votes representing 46.8 per cent.
       Ahmed Ibrahim of NDC won the Parliamentary Election with 14,965 votes representing 48.1 per cent of the valid votes cast, while Joe Danquah of NPP got 12,048 votes representing 38.7 per cent.
        The Tain District of the Brong Ahafo Region was carved out of the Wenchi District. Its capital, Nsawkaw is a 40-minute drive away from Wenchi.
         The people are mainly farmers cultivating food crops, especially maize and yams.

No comments: