Tuesday, September 23, 2008

Rejuvenated CPP celebrates Birthday of Ghana's First President

     The rejuvenated Convention Peoples Party (CPP) on Sunday commemorated the 99th birthday of Ghana's First President, Osagyefo Dr Kwame Nkrumah, with the outdooring of the party's Election 2008 running mate Dr Abu Sakara.
     Thousands of party supporters, clad in white with the cockerel, the symbol of the party embedded at the back and the portrait of Dr Paa Kwasi Nduom, CPP flag bearer of the party at the frontage, congregated at the Kwame Nkrumah Circle to celebrate and official launch of the party's campaign.
     The announcement of Dr Sakara as running mate to Dr Nduom was greeted with fanfare, recital of appellations and shouting of slogans by activists of the CPP.
     The venue was set agog with the singing of patriotic songs interjected with shouts of "Nkrumah Show Boy" and release of white doves into the air.
     Party loyalists observed a minute's silence in memory of the Osagyefo Dr Kwame Nkrumah.
     Nkrumah, born on September 21st 1909, led Ghana to independence on March 6 1957 and was overthrown in a coup in February 1966.
     The venue of the commemoration was enlightened with reminiscences of Ghana under Osagyefo Dr Nkrumah - his selflessness, the struggle for African liberation and unity, his overthrow and rejection by some of his close associates and his exile days in Guinea.
     The fanfare also witnessed painful recollection and vivid narrations of the suffering of other less fortunate members of his team and innocent children who were maimed as a result of the violence perpetrated by his political opponents.
     Leading members pledged their commitment to reconstruct the vanguard that would lead to the attainment of Nkrumah's ideals, build a party that would provide food, clothing and shelter for Ghanaians.
     The party also introduced its aspiring parliamentary candidates from most of the 230 constituencies to the people.
     Dr Nduom also demonstrated the unity of the party by parading some of the leading members who contested with him during the presidential primaries last year but lost.
     They include Dr Kwaku Osafo an economist, Mr Bright Akwetey, a legal practitioner and Dr F.W.A. Akufo. Professor Agyemang Badu Akosa and Mr George Opesika Aggudey were not available to be introduced.

No comments: