Wednesday, September 24, 2008

Brong Ahafo election security task force inaugurated

     An 11-member Regional Election Security Task Force charged to ensure peace in the Brong Ahafo during and after the December elections was on Tuesday inaugurated in Sunyani.
     The Task Force is chaired by Assistant Commissioner of Police (ACP), Seth Charles Oteng.
     Other members are Mr. Sam Tetteh Quarshie of Customs, Excise and Preventive Service; Lt.-Col. M. Amoah of Third Battalion of Infantry; Deputy Director of Prisons Jaco Agambire; Mr. Pius Awelinga, Commander, Bureau of National Investigations; Mr. K. M. Afful, Ghana National Fire Service; Mr. David Annan, Ghana Immigration Service.
     The rest are Superintendent Charles Domanban, Regional Crime Officer; Mr. G. Ofori Boateng, Regional Security Coordinator; Mr. Bossman Amo Poku, Information Service Department and Mr. Francis O. Boateng, Regional Coordinating Director.
     Inaugurating the Task Force, Nana Kwadwo Kwakye, Deputy Brong Ahafo Regional Minister, said there was the need to put in place effective mechanisms to ensure peace in the region.
     "Ghana is bigger than all of us, politicians would come and go. As to whether the current situation would remain the same depends on all of us, how we can safeguard the integrity and security of the state," Nana Kwakye said.
     ACP Oteng gave assurance that the team would live up to the task of ensuring before, during and after the elections.
      He expressed the hope that the Regional Coordinating Council would support and assist the team to work effectively.

No comments: