Friday, January 30, 2009

More persons vying to contest seats on the Council of State

   – Nine persons, on Tuesday filled nomination forms of the Electoral Commission (EC) in Sunyani, to contest elections to represent the Brong Ahafo Region on the Council of State.
     They were, Mr. John Henry Owusu-Acheampong, 68, veteran politician, who holds a Master of Science Degree in Agricultural Economics, Mr. Kwabena Kyere, a retired educationist, Mr.Kwaku Dartey, 46, teacher, who holds a Bachelor of Arts Degree in Management Studies.
     Others were Mr. Usman Fakih Suallah, 27, also a teacher with Diploma in Basic Education and Nana Kwaku Dwuma Ankoana II, 60, Nana Kwadwo Sito, 53, Paramount chiefs of Seikwa and Banda Traditional Areas respectively in the Tain District and Pemampem Yaw Kagbrese V, Paramount chief of Yeji Traditional Area.

In Sekondi,Eight individuals, who collected forms to contest and represent the Western Region as Member of the Council of State, have submitted their forms as at the close of work on January 27 2008.
       He said the eight, made up of six men and two women aged between 57 years and 80 years included retired educationists, lecturers and administrators.
       Mr Opoku-Mensah however said their names would not be disclosed but their educational backgrounds ranged between Advanced Level Certificate holders to Doctorate Degree holders.
       He said two representatives from each of the 17 Districts in the Region, would converge at the EC Regional Office in Sekondi on February 10 2009 to elect a representative for the Region.
       Three people including a woman, collected forms on January 21 2009 the day nominations opened.
       Mr Opoku-Mensah, who was speaking to GNA in an interview, said the Council of State was a constitutional body that advised the President and the members must be intelligent, patriotic and hard working.
       He said the membership of the Council was a representative from each of the 10 Regions; a Former Inspector General of Police; Former Chief Justice; Former Chief of Defence Staff and 11 others appointed by the President.

No comments: